On the re-opening of SLPP Office … “We would never encourage violence” John Benjamin...

Parliament approves 24 and rejects 1

Parliament yesterday approved 24 presidential nominees to serve as supreme court judge, Board chairmen, Directors and Board members in various state institutions, but rejected the nomination of Mamie Sesay.
Proposing the motion of the committee on appointment and public service to MPs, the deputy majority leader in parliament Hon Sheku Badara Dumbuya of APC said the presidential nominees were interviewed on Wednesday 11 where their educational background and proven abilities were assessed.
Justice Salamatu Koroma an appeal court judge was approved as Supreme Court judge. Justice Koroma was called to the Bar in 1974 and appointed state counsel in the law officers department the same year and in 1976 she was appointed deputy administrator and registrar general until she became the substantive holder up to her appointment in 2005 as an appeals court judge.
She promised the appointment committee that she will dispense justice without fear or favour to all. The first Anti-Corruption Commissioner Mr Valentine Collier was also approved as Chairman Public Service Commission.
He has 35 years working experience in the civil service. He was head of civil service from 1992- 2000 when he was appointed commissioner of the ACC.
He told the appointments committee that when he left the civil service some years ago, he knew about problems of manpower and human resource, structures and training for civil servants. Mr Sorie N. Dumbuya former deputy registrar of the university of Sierra Leone and registrar Fourah Bay College was approved as Board Chairman Sierra Leone Ports Authority and Mr Charlie Hughes as Chairman Relics and Monuments Commission whilst Dr Issa Fofanah, a lecturer at Njala University College was also approved as Board Chairman National Tourist Board and Balla A.S Kamara as Board chairman Sierra Leone Maritime Administration. Alusine Mohamed Tarawally and Franklyn Sesay were approved to serve as Board members of the Sierra Leone Airports Authority.
Mohamed A. Jalloh, Buffy B. Bailor and Davidson Kuyateh approved as Board members for National Commission for Privatization. Mohamed Sampha Bangura and Sam Franklyn were approved as Board members Sierra Leone Maritime Administration.
Also approved by parliament were Mr Amadu Bangura and Haja Alimatu Sesay as Board members Sierra Leone Ports Authority while Mrs Lovetta C. Fornah and Alex Sorie Conteh to serve as Board members Public Service Commission.  Alieu Kokobeh, the current General Manager of Hotel Kimbima was approved as Board member tourist Board whilst Mrs RogersWright also approved as Board member SALWACO. Mr Arthur Yaskey, the managing Director of National Insurance Company was approved to serve in the capacity as an ex-officio member Sierra Leone Insurance Commission and Rev Zichri Smith as Board member Ports Authority. Mr Nicolas Kamara and Ahmed Charlie Dumbuya approved as Board members SLRA. Hon Eric Jumu of SLPP who seconded the motion told the nominees that they have a responsibility and their purpose and mandate was to perform. He also admonished the members that will be serving as Board members of Airport Authority to fully implement the civil aviation law and to make sure that the airport receives its respect.
Hon Claude Kamanda of APC and Alimamy Kamara of APC made contributions.

Comments are closed.