On the re-opening of SLPP Office … “We would never encourage violence” John Benjamin...

Sierra Leone News: Parliament approves 11 nominees

Members of Parliament (MPs) on Tuesday 4 December unanimously approved 11 Presidential nominees to serve in various positions. The leader of Government Business, Hon. Sidi Mohamed Tunis, said the 20th Report of the Committee on Appointment is the unanimous decision of the Committee after the interview sessions. According to Hon. Daniel B. Koroma their responsibility as MP is not only to comment on the gender of the nominees but their capabilities in handling their position of trust, disclosing out of 15 State owned enterprises only 5 are profit generating referencing the 2019 Budget Estimate. He described Rokel Commercial Bank as digital whiles Union Trust Bank (UTB) is manual but UTB is making huge profit than Rokel as is evident in their yearly financial reports published. He called on the newly approved Chair of the Board of Directors Rokel Commercial Bank, Buffy Bailor, to make sure he works with other Board members in ensuring the potentials of making profit by their Bank comes to pass before the end of the first session of Parliament in March 2019. He called on the Chair of the Committee on Finance to summon the Management of Rokel Bank together with the newly approved Board Chair to give update on the status of the Bank by March 2019. Hon Koroma reminded the approved nominees to the Right to Access Information Commission about the sensitive nature of their work ahead, which if classified information are let out will lead to their automatic relieve off duty, but however encouraged them to create access to information to everyone without any political biasness. The acting leader of the opposition Hon Hassan Abdoul Sesay called on all the approved nominees to be aware of the fact they were not appointed out of political compensation but to serve the country. He however questioned the former Executive Director of Heal Sierra Leone who is now one of the newly approved Commissioners of NATCOM about his successor as the school going pupils are interested in their programmes, urging Joseph Sannoh not to go with his organization to NATCOM. The leader of Government Business, Hon. Sidi Mohamed Tunis disclosed among the 37 positions to be occupied only 11 have been filled remaining 26 which will soon come to Parliament for necessary actions with more female names.

The approved nominees are;

  • Buffy Bailor-Chair Board of Directors Rokel Commercial Bank
  • Yeama Sarah Thompson-Commissioner Right to Access of Information Commission
  • Biah Yormah Idriss-Commissioner Right to Access to Information Commission
  • Hon Jusufu Barry Mansaray-Commissioner NATCOM
  • Joseph Abass Sannoh-Commissioner NATCOM
  • Paul Squire-Commissioner NATCOM
  • Robert Kondema Kargbo-Commissioner NATCOM
  • Alpha Tejan Kellah-Specialist National Medical Supplies Agency
  • Alhassan Kamara-Civil Society Representative National Medical Supplies Agency
  • Robert Sheku Abdullai-Member Board of Directors Sierra Leone Commercial Bank
  • Sahr Foa Matturi-Member Board of Directors National Minerals Agency.


By Alhaji M. Kamara

Wednesday December 05, 2018.

Comments are closed.