On the re-opening of SLPP Office … “We would never encourage violence” John Benjamin...

Sierra Leone News: Amb. Tom Vens receives 2018 Environmental Care Award

As part of the organization’s vision of seeing Sierra Leone and the world free from the anthropogenic climate effects, Shout Climate Change Africa powered by the environment protection Agency EPA-SL awarded Ambassador Tom Vens, head of European Union  Delegation ”THE MOST DEDICATED ENVIRONMENTAL CARE AMBASSADOR OF THE YEAR”. According to SCCA report, since the start of his diplomatic mission in the country, Ambassador Tom Vens has been 100% proactive in virtually all environmental activities and exercises across the country. Over the years, Vens has been able to demonstrate the passion and love he has for the country and all environmental issues. This is being manifested in his role and participation in events aimed at achieving the Sustainable Development Goals for all. The Ambassador along with his delegation has very well represented the EU in matters of addressing the current environmental challenges alongside other development issues for which the MOST DEDICATED AMBASSADOR deserves a wonderful recognition, SCCA said. Upon receipt of his award – ”Most Dedicated Ambassador of the Year ” presented by SCCA Global Ambassador – USA based Ismatu Daramy, Vens articulated the EU and SCCA have held several meetings with regards combating the threats to our environments for which incredible humanitarian action is necessary. In recognition of the initiatives undertaken by the mayor of Freetown, Yvonne Aki- Sawyerr was given the Conscious Mayor of the Year Award presented to her by the British High Commissioner, Guy Warrington. Other awardees whose environmental activism was appreciated were: Memunatu Pratt – Minister Of Tourism And Culture – Environmental Conscious Minister of the Year

Joseph J. Ndanema – Minister Of Agriculture And Forestry – Environmental Dedicated Minister of the Year

Denis Sandy – Minister of Lands & the Environment – Environmental Care Minister of the Year

FAO of the United Nations – Eco-friendly Organization of the Year

Gola Rainforest National Park – Eco-conservation Organisation of the year

Tacugama Chimpanzee Sanctuary – Wildlife Conservation Organisation of the year

Foday Moriba Jaward – the Executive Chair, Environment Protection Agency- SL – Outstanding Environmental Activist of the Year

Ekundayo Walton Gilpin – Rokel Commercial Bank Managing Director – CEO of the Year

Capital Radio – Weather Forecast Radio of the Year

The Republic of Sierra Leone Armed Forces – Dedicated Force Of The Year

Fourah Bay College- University of Sierra Leone – Environmental Law Training University of the Year

Africa Young Voices (AYV) Media Empire – Outstanding Media House of the Year

Lucy-Ann Ganda – Head of TV, Sierra Leone Broadcasting Corporation- Journalist of the Year

Mohamed J. Bah, Awoko Newspaper – News Reporter of the Year

NP (SL) Limited – Humanitarian Company of the Year

International Construction Company – Humanitarian Construction Company of the Year

Gento Group Of Company Limited – Outstanding Company of the Year

Zenith Bank Sierra Leone Limited – Humanitarian bank of the year

International Insurance Company – Environmental Friendly Company of the Year

  1. Shankerdas & Sons Limited – Conscious Recycling company of the year

Joseph  Munda Bindi – Chair Bo District Council – Outstanding Chairman of the Year

The awards were held on Saturday 24 November 2018.

Monday December 17, 2018.

Comments are closed.