On the re-opening of SLPP Office … “We would never encourage violence” John Benjamin...

Sierra Leone News: Parliament approves Hon PC Sallay Gendemeh, 12 others

Members of Parliament (MPs) on Tuesday 15th January 2019 debated and unanimously approved 13 Presidential Nominees including Honourable Paramount Chief Sallay Satta Gendemeh as Member National Commission for Social Action (NaCSA).
Upon presenting the nominees before the House for possible approval by the Acting Leader of Government Business, Hon Sahr Mathew Nyuma, the Speaker Hon Abass Bundu ruled that “statutorily the Inspector General of Police is a Member of the Minerals Advisory Board as provided in the Mines and Minerals Act of 2009” and therefore such appointment is not subject to the approval of Parliament. This ruling forced the deputy Opposition Leader Hon Ibrahim Ben Kargbo to remind the Speaker that previous Inspector Generals of Police and other Statutory people had faced Parliament for approval, and pointed out that the ruling is a new thing for them. The Speaker ordered for the name of the IG to be removed from the list as the position is Statutory, which exempts him from facing Parliament.
Seconding the motion for the approval of the nominees, the Opposition Whip, Hon. Hassan Abdoul Sesay said that the nominees are qualified for the positions they had been nominated by President Bio and referred to them as “fine gentlemen and women” who needed parliamentary approval before they could enter their official duties.
Hon. Hindolo Gevao also described the nominees as “fine men and women”, recognizing Musa Mewa as a barrister and solicitor at the High Court of Sierra Leone, whom he believes can perform. He called on the nominee to the National Minerals Agency Board to see how best they can create a one-stop-shop aimed at improving and shortening the period for establishing and doing business in Sierra Leone. Hon. P.C.M.P from Moyamba District, Haja Fatmata Meama-Kajue, in her recognition of the appointment of the female Paramount Chief by President Bio, said “I hope the nominees will put into perspective what they had told the Committee on Appointments and the Public Service.”
Hon. P.C.M.P from Bo, Joe Kangbai Macavoray, thanked President Bio for nominating a Paramount Chief for the second time out of 190 of them, adding, “as Oliver Twist we are asking for more appointments.”
Rounding the debate, the Acting Leader of the Opposition, Hon. Ibrahim Ben Kargbo said that they are part of the process and that they are satisfied with the nominees, whilst recognizing the nomination of Paramount Chief Gendemeh whom he described as “a motherly figure” who had contributed immensely to the development of Sierra Leone. Concluding, the Acting Leader of Government Business, Hon. Mathew S. Nyuma said that they were working in the best interest of Sierra Leoneans who voted SLPP into governance, whilst recognizing the nomination of Rev. Bassie “as putting square pegs in square holes in light of his qualification and competence”.  Congratulating the nominees after approval, the Speaker of Parliament, Dr. Abass Chernor Bundu expressed his congratulations and felicitations to the new appointees in light of their qualification and competence, cognizant of the fact that they would live up to the expectations and confidence reposed in them by the President, Parliament and the People of Sierra Leone.

The approved nominees were

  • P.C Sallay Satta Gendemeh-Member, National Commission for Social Action
  • Roland Eben Buck-Member, Tertiary Education Commission
  • Georgette Greene-Member, Board of Directors, Sierra Leone Ports Authority
  • Musa Mewa-Member, Board of Directors, National Minerals Agency
  • Alhaji Mustapha B. Turay-Member, National Minerals Agency
  • Mohamed Kanneh-Member, National Youth Commission
  • Zainab Kamara-Member, National Youth Commission
  • Lucretia Mbogba-Member, National Youth Commission
  • Saidu Alie Lakoh-Member, National Youth Commission
  • Malcon Gabriel Mannah Kpana-Member, National Youth Commission
  • Fr. Martin Leo Bassie-Member, Board of Trustees, Sierra Leone Broadcasting Corporation
  • Sahr Tamba Nyalloma-Member, Board of Trustees, Sierra Leone Broadcasting Corporation and

Alhaji Foday B. Turay-Member, Police Council

By Alhaji Manika Kamara

Wednesday January 16, 2019.

Comments are closed.